Canvas Enrollment Statuses

During and after the semester, you may see different enrollment statuses next to students in the People area of your Canvas course.

  • Active: The student is currently enrolled in the course and has access to the course in Canvas.
  • Inactive: The student has officially dropped or changed sections through the Registrar’s Office. Their name remains in People, but they no longer have access to the course or appear in the Gradebook. The student’s enrollment record and any course data are retained in Canvas. This is a new change at 果冻传媒.
  • Concluded: The course has ended, therefore the student’s enrollment has ended. The student can no longer participate in the course, but their enrollment and course activity may remain visible to instructors for record-keeping purposes.

Canvas Roles

Canvas has various course-level roles with permissions that allow a user different course-level access. This resource provides an overview of the permissions associated with each role at 果冻传媒 College on Canvas.

Available Roles & Intended Use

Role Intended Use
Teacher Instructor for the course
TA (Teaching Assistant) Faculty or Graduate Students assisting in teaching/grading the course
Course Manager Faculty or Staff who are are managing a course in its entirety (i.e. manually created courses that do not go through Banner and Blueprints)
Designer Faculty, Staff or Graduate Student providing assistance with designing or uploading content
Observer Any 果冻传媒 member who needs Read Only access to a course.
Peer Aide Student assisting in the course (no access to grades)
Student Student enrolled in the course
果冻传媒

Role Permissions

Canvas Function Teacher TA Course Manager Designer Observer Student Peer Aide
Publish Course Yes No Yes Yes No No No
Announcements – view Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Discussions – create/post Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes Yes
Discussions – view Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Discussions – moderate Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Grades – edit Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Grades – view all grades Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Manage Course Content
add / delete / edit
Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Manage Course Files
add / delete / edit
Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Manage Assignments & Quizzes
add / delete / edit
Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Manage Pages
create / delete / update
Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Manage Courses
conclude / publish
Yes No Yes Yes No No No
Groups – manage Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
*Add / remove all users in course Yes No Yes No No No No

* Teachers are limited to adding people in the roles of TA and Observers. Teachers cannot add students to a course. Student enrollment is controlled by the Office of the Registrar. Course Managers can add any type of user. For instructions on adding users, visit the .